New York State of Mind

The highlights of my first trip to New York City were definitely all food-related. In fact, I can’t wait to return to the city to eat at the restaurants on my list that I didn’t get a chance to visit. Here are the highlights and my recommendations (should you take a trip) 🙂

L’Ecole, the Restaurant of the French Culinary Institute

L’Ecole has one of the most delicious five course prix fixe menus in New York City (of course, I’ve never had another… but still…). Every bite is filled with rich flavor and best of all, we left feeling just perfectly full. I had my first experience with Arctic Char and am reluctant to eat salmon again- the char was similar to salmon, but ten times more tender and flavorful. I was surprised by the amazing flavor of the pork loin, complimented by the fresh mint-pea purée. Potatoes served with both meat courses were flavorful and delicate. My favorite part of the meal, strangely enough, was the lemon ricotta sorbet served with the digestive salad. Simultaneously creamy, sour, and cool, it was the perfect end to the meal pre-dessert.

Parisian Gnocchi with Asparagus and Prosciutto in a Lemon Chicken Velouté

Five-Spice Marinated Duck Breast with Pickled Cherries and Goat Cheese

Poached Arctic Char with White Asparagus and…

the best Paella!!

Fillet of Bass in a Spiced Crustacean Broth with Grilled Squid, Creamed Corn and Fava Beans

Hanger Steak with Pommes Boulangere

Roasted Hampshire Pork Loin with Mint-Pea Purée, Potato Terrine and Sherry Vinegar Pork Jus

Amazing Lemon Ricotta Sorbet with the Digestive Salad

Part of the trio of Chocolate desserts- German Chocolate Cake

Amazing Peach and Blackberry Tart with fresh Pistachio and Dried Fruit Ice Cream

Chimichurri Grill, Argentine Cuisine

We chose this restaurant due to its proximity to the theater district. I was surprised by the flavor in everything. The gazpacho was full of fresh tomatoes and unlike many gazpachos, had a refreshing crunch. While the watermelon sorbet complimented the gazpacho well, when eaten plain, I found it a bit too artificially sweet. The filet mignon was out of this world- tender, flavorful, yum. The only thing I would have added was a side dish. For dessert, I tried the lavender-infused flan and was delighted by an incredibly creamy and flavorful treat. I haven’t had good flan in a long time (the dining hall just doesn’t cut it), so it was nice to be reminded of how tasty it can be.

Gazpacho served with Watermelon Sorbet (presentation in this picture is lacking because I was too excited to start eating)

Chimichurri Filet Mignon

Flourless Chocolate Cake- not my favorite here, but still very good

Lavendar-Infused Flan

202

A craving for post-July 4th brunch led me to 202, a restaurant tucked into a designer store for attire, housewares, and antiques from Paris and the South of France. I was happy to find that it is indeed possible to combine two of my favorite things- food and shopping. While you wait for your food, you can look around at the selection of clothes, shoppers, and other diners. For brunch, we had the English Breakfast- a combination of poached eggs, toast, bacon, sausage, a mushroom, delicious potatoes, and tomatoes. 202 is also famous for its french toast, which we also ordered. It was easily some of the best french toast I’ve ever had and I would happily eat it every day if I could.

French Toast (with bacon on top)

English Breakfast (not a good picture- I apologize)



Leave a comment