Steak and Potatoes

Most non vegetarian beef-eating people love steak and potatoes, and I am no exception. The allure of grilling steak transcended its way to trying to grill potatoes this week. They actually turned out surprisingly well, and grill so much faster than any method of cooking I’ve tried before. Perfect for me, because I’m incredibly impatient. One word of caution- they burn quickly!

small Red Potatoes (as many as you’d like- I used 8)
3 cloves of minced Garlic
Rosemary
Sea Salt
Pepper
a few tablespoons of Olive Oil
a few tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar
Red Onions for roasting

I quartered the potatoes and rubbed them with the garlic, rosemary, sea salt, pepper, oil, and vinegar. I let them sit for about an hour in a bowl to marinate. Next, I divided the potatoes on two sheets of tinfoil and sort of wrapped them inside. I don’t think it really matters how you wrap them as long as they are completely covered in tin foil. After heating the grill to a medium heat, I put the tin foil packets on the higher shelf of the grill and cooked them until tender, turning them occasionally. This probably took 10-15 minutes, but I honestly wasn’t paying attention to the time. I should probably start doing that so that these recipes are more exact when I record them. The potatoes were really delicious and my sister and I ate nearly all of them!

For the steak:
I used exactly the same ingredients as above but also added lemon juice to help tenderize the meat. The steak marinated for a few hours in the fridge, but I took it out 90 minutes before grilling to warm it to room temperature. The key to cooking excellent steak is patience (which I lack) and a really hot grill (pre-heat on high for at least 15 minutes before you go near it). I hate it when my steaks stick to the grill, so I just lightly sprayed them with Pam before setting them on the grill. As soon as they’re on the grill, close it and don’t open for 4-6 minutes (for medium-rare!). Flip steaks and do the same on the other side. I put the leftover marinade on the side of the steak that had just cooked while the other side was cooking. This was the first time I grilled steaks without the guidance of my mom (who loathes over-cooked meat) but they turned out really well! I liked the simple marinade a lot and now feel comfortable enough with grilling steaks to try more complex seasonings.

Potatoes in seasonings

Potatoes wrapped in Tin Foil

Voila! The roasted onions are delicious (just set some quartered red onions on the grill and turn occasionally until they are cooked) and I highly recommend adding them to this meal.


One Comment on “Steak and Potatoes”

  1. hungryindc says:

    is that supposed to be i used 8 and not i used 8) cool face? either way these look amazing, and would probably go well with the bread salad too!


Leave a comment